BREEAM – Building Research Establishment Environmental Assessment Method

BREEAM is the Building Research Establishment Environmental Assessment Method for buildings. It sets the standard for the best possible practice in sustainable design and is considered the leading and most commonly used environmental assessment method for commercial buildings.

Nine categories, in accordance to performance, are covered by BREEAM Assessments.

  1. Pollution
  2. Health and Well-being
  3. Waste
  4. Transport
  5. Water
  6. Materials
  7. Energy
  8. Land Use & Ecology
  9. Management

Within each category there are several issues where credits can be awarded depending on the design specification. The final amount of these credits determines the overall BREEAM rating. There are six BREEAM Ratings ranging from unclassified (a score of lower than 30% which constitutes a failed assessment) to Outstanding (a score of higher than 85%).

We offer a free consultation service which contains two parts. We initially explain the BREEAM Assessment process after which we discuss and understand your development requirements with a view to how we can be of service.

We offer the following types of BREEAM Assessments:

  • Education
  • Offices
  • International
  • Bespoke